Student Workshop

We had received the data set from the IBA organizers and had started working on it on PETREL software. But without sufficient computer hardware, our team had to withdraw from the competition without giving the presentation.

Out of 20 applications sent from our Chapter, one student Kshitij Gautam of M.Sc Earth Sciences final year has been selected to participate in this conference by the AAPG organizers.

The AAPG annual meet, organised by ISM Dhanbad AAPG Student Chapter from 22nd-24th February 2014 with an aim of bringing the best of the minds from the fields of Geology, Geophysics and Petroleum Industry and Academia on a common platform and sharing the ideas which might aid in moulding the future of oil industry. A team consisting of 12 members from AAPG University of Delhi attended this meet in order to gain some valuable experience.Many students from the AAPG Delhi University student chapter participated in most of the events held and won with flying colours. The winnwrs were:

1. Manprit Kumar, Beas Adhikary and Siddharth Singh

    won the 1st position in the quiz competition.

2. Gyan Verma, Beas Adhikary, Manprit Kumar, Kartikeya Singh Sangwan

      and Siddharth Singh  bagged the 1st positon in the Geological Olympiad

3. Mayank Agarwal won the 2nd prize in the Photography competition.

4. Siddharth Singh, Ekta Aggarwal, Gyan Verma

     won the 3rd prize in the Overnight Case Study

5. Harshit Tandon, Manan Bhan and Vidyyut Sharma won the 3rd prize in the Overnight case study.

Several students from our chapter participated in this event and have performed extremely well and have won many prizes in various competitons.


1. Brainstorm (Overnight case study competition) -
Manan Bhan
Kartikeya Singh Sangwan
Raman U.
Ekta Aggarwal

Certificates for 3rd Position and cash prize of Rs.2000.

2. Geospectrum Quiz Competition -
Simran Arora
Harshit Tandon
Himanshu Manchanda

Abhinav Kumar

Certificates for 3rd Position and cash prize of Rs.2000.

3. Online Quiz Competition -
Kartikeya Singh Sangwan - Winner of Quiz 1.
Abhinav Kumar - Winner of Quiz 3.
Harshit Tandon - Winner of Quiz 4.

The Rest of the participation and accolades are as follows

1. Poster presentation -
The poster on Geothermal Energy made it to the Top 10 and were selected for the final round.
The team comprised of Harshit Tandon, Vaibhav Miglani and Raman U.

2. Geo-modelling
2 models selected for the Final Round of the modelling competition.

The 1st model was on Enhanced Oil Recovery, made by Kartikeya Singh Sangwan, Abhinav Kumar, Himanshu Manchanda, Harshit Tandon and Manan Bhan.

The 2nd model was on Geothermal Energy, made by Vaibhav Miglani, Raman U., Priya Gaur, Ekta Aggarwal and Rigzen Wangmo.

Teacher’s day was celebrated in the department for the first time. A small event was organized by the students to show their love and respect for their teachers. The program was started by the lighting of the lamp. The Head of the Department, Prof. Devesh K Sinha addressed the students.He assured the students that all teachers would help them in all possible ways. After his encouraging speech, Prof. J.P.Srivastava took the dais and shared his thoughts. He enlightened the students with his dignified words.This was followed by cake cutting by the head and the teachers.The students had organized few events for all. One of them was an open debate session on hot topics.

The debate among the teachers was an interesting one and was enjoyed by all. Many cross questions were put up for the students to think on. Adding to the zest, a small open quiz was organized. The main aim of the event was to have a friendly interaction between the teachers and the students.

AAPG Student Chapter organized the Student Workshop on 29th August’14. Events like Geological Olympiad, Lectures/seminars by students and a logo making competition were organized. Cash prizes worth Rs.4000 were awarded. Quite a number of students participated actively in the events.
Talks on several topics were given by the students. Some of those topics were “Exploration of natural gas” by Priya Gaur, “Shale oil” by Santanu Misra, “Oil Shale” by Vishesh Gautam, “Abundance of oil in middle east countries” by kshitij Gautam, “Kerogen Formation” by Debojyoti Basuroy and few more.

Best talk was given by Kshitij Gautam.

The Geological Olympiad comprised of four rounds- Extempore, JAM, rapid fire and Pictionary. A team of four members, one from post-graduate and one student from each year of under-graduate could participate.
The winners of the geological Olympiad were:
1st – Kartikeya Singh Sangwan, Raman U., Ekta Aggarwal and Tushar
2nd – Shaan Ali Khan, Jeev, Nivedita Raina, Aditya
3rd – Manprit Srivastava, srijin, Anurag K Das, Ripunjay

Also, a logo making competition was organized in order to get a new logo for the chapter. Logo designed by Debojyoti Basuroy was selected for the “University Of Delhi AAPG Student Chapter”. This logo was officially accepted as the logo of our chapter. These events helped to bring out the best from students.
All the winners were awarded cash prizes and certificates.

Our team at ISM Dhambad (2014)

Professor Devesh K. Sinha addressing the students

Teachers cutting cake on Teachers' Day

Events that took place in 2014